Leave a comment

First Project: Curricula

Well I said that this blog was going to be partially about my adventures as a software developer so here it goes.

This is my first real project. Thus far my development background has been projects for my classes, and the were pretty small. Now I’m going to try to make the leap to a real project while attempting to teach myself along the way. Sounds scary right?

As a college student, it’s hard sometimes to follow your classes and know where you stand in all of them. Sure there are ways to do it, there are spreadsheets that you can set up or a few applications that you can download to your computer or iPhone or iPad, but I’m not exactly satisfied with them. I want one place where I can go to get all the information about my grades, but more importantly where I can go for anything that the course involves. That’s what Curricula is. It’s a course manager for the college or high school student. This week I got a few books in the mail from Amazon, both from Big Nerd Ranch (yes it’s a real place). I’ll be starting off by working through the Mac OS X Programming book and then move on to iOS after that. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish at least the Mac side of the project by the end of the summer. I’ll be posting more updates about the project here on the blog. If you as a student have any suggestions for what you would want in a product like this (or even if you just want to tell me that you think it’s a good idea, you can leave a comment here or you can hit the Contact form above. I’m really looking forward to my first real development project and I really appreciate your support.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

